Wendy Archibald

Not Every Book

In Random on February 3, 2009 at 3:02 pm

I’ve been debating about whether or not to review every book I read and post it here. I’ve decided against this because:

  1. I don’t have time. I read three or four books a week, which should tell you how behind on housework I constantly am.
  2. I don’t want to post “bad” reviews. That may make me sound like a biased reviewer, but I hate to think of posting something unkind about another person’s hard work. Also, reading is highly subjective. I’d hate to post something that makes a person not read a book they might have loved.
  3. I originally intended this blog to be a resource for finding a good book to read, and also for parents to find something for their kids to read if they don’t have the time to read it themselves. I think this is doable without posting every book I read.

I haven’t posted much lately because I’ve been busy with other projects, although I have several books on the docket (what’s a docket?) I hope to get up in the next few days.

  1. I have to tell you that based on your review I checked out some of Janette Rallison’s books. Very fun to read. Thanks!

  2. Wendy/Wanda–

    An unbiased reviewer? If you were, perhaps, only reviewing books that came from your friends and only said nice things about them, then that would certainly be the wrong kind of bias. But a review should be critical, should it not?

Leave a Reply

