Wendy Archibald

My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison

In Fantasy, Reviews, YA on January 23, 2009 at 10:19 pm

I have to start out by saying I’m a big fan of Janette Rallison. I have loved all of her books. She has a way of writing that is both concise and witty. Her latest book did not disappoint.

Savannah Delano was dumped by her boyfriend in order to date her older sister, Jane–after Savannah bought a prom dress.While in the throes of her despair, Savannah somehow summons a fairy godmother. Unfortunately for Savannah, Chrysanthemum Everstar (and, yes, I know how to spell ‘chrysanthemum’ from watching Anne of Green Gables) wasn’t particularly studious at fairy school, and so she’s only fair at this godmothering/wish granting business.  Savannah’s wishes are disastrous, sending her first back to the Middle Ages to work for weeks as Cinderella, luckily escaping before being stuck with a decidedly uncharming prince. Then, as Snow White, Savannah learns it isn’t enough for her to be adored as beautiful but brainless. Savannah’s final wish–to have a real prince to take her to prom–is the worst of all, sending a boy from school to the Middle Ages. Savannah, who lived in the Middle Ages for both her prior wishes, feels terrible and sets out to rescue Tristan.

Comedy, romance, and a plot that twists surprisingly until all ends are tied (except Chryssy–which I hope means we’ll see her again in another book) made for a highly enjoyable read.

Thank you, Janette Rallison! I loved My Fair Godmother.

I highly recommend this book for teenagers.

  1. Thanks for being my reviewer! Just added this to my “requests” at the library. I have 2 voracious readers that I can hardly find enough books for. 🙂

Leave a Reply

